Online enticement of a minor - Alaska Sexual Assault Laws
Online enticement of a minor Crime & Punishment in Alaska :
The Alaska code § 11.41.452 defines two degrees of the crime online enticement of a minor, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Online enticement of a minor - Charge Description||Punishment|
Class B felony
|If defendant at the time of the offense was required to register as a sex offender or child kidnapper||Not more than 10 years; presumptive term of 4 years for 2nd felony, 6 years for 3rd|
Class C felony
|Not more than 5 years; presumptive term of 2 years for 2nd, felony, 3 years for 3rd|
Alaska law allows online enticement of a minor to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the Alaska Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Online enticement of a minor is a charge that is unique to Alaska. Crimes that would be prosecuted as online enticement of a minor in Alaska will be prosecuted under a different statute depending on the state in which the crime takes place.