Oregon Age of Consent & Sex Laws Oregon Age of Consent Laws 2017

What is the Oregon Age of Consent?

The Oregon Age of Consent is 18 years old. In the United States, the age of consent is the minimum age at which an individual is considered legally old enough to consent to participation in sexual activity. Individuals aged 17 or younger in Oregon are not legally able to consent to sexual activity, and such activity may result in prosecution for statutory rape.

Oregon statutory rape law is violated when a person has consensual sexual intercourse with an individual under age 18. The age of the offender affects the severity of the punishment.

View list of sexual assault laws & punishments in Oregon

Oregon does not have a close-in-age exemption. Close in age exemptions, commonly known as "Romeo and Juliet laws", are put in place to prevent the prosecution of individuals who engage in consensual sexual activity when both participants are significantly close in age to each other, and one or both partners are below the age of consent.

Because there is no such "Romeo and Juliet law" in Oregon, it is possible for two individuals both under the age of 18 who willingly engage in intercourse to both be prosecuted for statutory rape, although this is rare. Similarly, no protections are reserved for sexual relations in which one participant is a 17 year old and the second is a 18 or 19 year old.


Age of Consent across the United States

The Age of Consent ranges state-by-state from 16 to 18 years old across the United States. Click the map to view any state's age of consent laws.

Age Of Consent:

16 years old
17 years old
18 years old

Punishments for Violating the Age Of Consent in Oregon

Oregon has fourteen statutory sexual abuse charges on the books which are used to prosecute age of consent and child abuse related crimes within the state. One or more of these charges may be used to prosecute violations of the Oregon Age of Consent, as statutory rape or the Oregon equivalent of that charge.

The severity of the criminal charge (felony, misdemeanor, etc) depends on the specifics of the acts committed and the relative ages of the perpetrator and victim. Click any charge for more detailed information.

Criminal Charge Severity Punishment
Contributing to the sexual delinquency of a minor Class A misdemeanor A maximum prison sentence of 1 year and/or a maximum fine of 6250
Online sexual corruption of a child- first degree Class B felony Up to 10 years; $200,000 fine
Online sexual corruption of a child- second degree Class C felony Up to 5 years; $100,000 fine
Rape- first degree Class A felony Up to 20 years; $300,000 fine
Rape- second degree Class B felony Up to 10 years; $200,000 fine
Rape- third degree Class C felony Up to 5 years; $100,000 fine
Sexual abuse- first degree Class B felony Up to 10 years; $200,000 fine
Sexual abuse- second degree Class C felony Up to 5 years; $100,000 fine
Sexual abuse- third degree Class A misdemeanor A maximum prison sentence of 1 year and/or a maximum fine of 6250
Sexual misconduct Class C misdemeanor A maximum prison sentence of 30 days and/or a maximum fine of $1250
Sodomy- first degree Class A felony Up to 20 years; $300,000 fine
Unlawful contact with a child Class C felony Up to 5 years; $100,000 fine
Unlawful sexual penetration- first degree Class A felony Up to 20 years; $300,000 fine
Unlawful sexual penetration- second degree Class B felony Up to 10 years; $200,000 fine

Back to list of state ages of consent View international ages of consent

** This Document Provided By AgeOfConsent.net **
Source: http://www.ageofconsent.net/states/oregon