Louisiana Age of Consent & Sex Laws Louisiana Age of Consent Laws 2017

What is the Louisiana Age of Consent?

The Louisiana Age of Consent is 17 years old. In the United States, the age of consent is the minimum age at which an individual is considered legally old enough to consent to participation in sexual activity. Individuals aged 16 or younger in Louisiana are not legally able to consent to sexual activity, and such activity may result in prosecution for statutory rape.

Louisiana statutory rape law is violated when a person has consensual sexual intercourse with an individual under age 17 who is not their spouse.

View list of sexual assault laws & punishments in Louisiana

Louisiana does not have a close-in-age exemption. Close in age exemptions, commonly known as "Romeo and Juliet laws", are put in place to prevent the prosecution of individuals who engage in consensual sexual activity when both participants are significantly close in age to each other, and one or both partners are below the age of consent.

Because there is no such "Romeo and Juliet law" in Louisiana, it is possible for two individuals both under the age of 17 who willingly engage in intercourse to both be prosecuted for statutory rape, although this is rare. Similarly, no protections are reserved for sexual relations in which one participant is a 16 year old and the second is a 17 or 18 year old.


Age of Consent across the United States

The Age of Consent ranges state-by-state from 16 to 18 years old across the United States. Click the map to view any state's age of consent laws.

Age Of Consent:

16 years old
17 years old
18 years old

Punishments for Violating the Age Of Consent in Louisiana

Louisiana has nine statutory sexual abuse charges on the books which are used to prosecute age of consent and child abuse related crimes within the state. One or more of these charges may be used to prosecute violations of the Louisiana Age of Consent, as statutory rape or the Louisiana equivalent of that charge.

The severity of the criminal charge (felony, misdemeanor, etc) depends on the specifics of the acts committed and the relative ages of the perpetrator and victim. Click any charge for more detailed information.

Criminal Charge Severity Punishment
Aggravated incest Felony Punishable by imprisonment at hard labor for not less than 25 years nor more than 99 years.
Aggravated Rape Felony Death or life imprisonment
Felony carnal knowledge of a juvenile Felony Punishable by fine not more than $5000 and/or by imprisonment, with or without hard labor, for not more than 10 years
Indecent behavior with juveniles Felony Punishable by imprisonment at hard labor for not less than 2 nor more than 25 years
Misdemeanor carnal knowledge of a juvenile Misdemeanor Punishable by fine not more than $1000, and/or by imprisonment for not more than 6 months
Molestation of a juvenile Felony Punishable by fine not more than $10000 and/or by imprisonment, with or without hard labor, for not less than 5 nor more than 40 years.; Punishable by imprisonment at hard labor for not less than 25 nor more than 99 years ; Punishable by fine of not more than $10000 and/or by imprisonment, with or without hard labor, for not less than 5 nor more than 40 years; Punishable by fine not more than $10000 and/or by imprisonment, with or without hard labor, for not less than 5 nor more than 20 years; Punishable by fine not more than $5000 and/or by imprisonment with or without hard labor, for not less than 5 nor more than 10 years
Oral Sexual Battery Felony Up to 10 years in prison (with or without hard labor) without probation/parole/ suspension
Sexual Battery Felony Up to 10 years in prison (with or without hard labor) without probation/parole/ suspension
Sexual Battery- second degree Felony Up to 15 years in prison (with or without hard labor) without probation/parole/ suspension

Back to list of state ages of consent View international ages of consent

** This Document Provided By AgeOfConsent.net **
Source: http://www.ageofconsent.net/states/louisiana