Nevada Age of Consent Laws 2023
What is the Nevada Age of Consent?
The Nevada Age of Consent is 16 years old. In the United States, the age of consent is the minimum age at which an individual is considered legally old enough to consent to participation in sexual activity. Individuals aged 15 or younger in Nevada are not legally able to consent to sexual activity, and such activity may result in prosecution for statutory rape.
Nevada statutory rape law is violated when a person has consensual sexual intercourse with an individual under age 16.
Nevada does not have a close-in-age exemption. Close in age exemptions, commonly known as "Romeo and Juliet laws", are put in place to prevent the prosecution of individuals who engage in consensual sexual activity when both participants are significantly close in age to each other, and one or both partners are below the age of consent.
Because there is no such "Romeo and Juliet law" in Nevada, it is possible for two individuals both under the age of 16 who willingly engage in intercourse to both be prosecuted for statutory rape, although this is rare. Similarly, no protections are reserved for sexual relations in which one participant is a 15 year old and the second is a 16 or 17 year old.
Age of Consent across the United States
The Age of Consent ranges state-by-state from 16 to 18 years old across the United States. Click the map to view any state's age of consent laws.
Age Of Consent:16 years old
17 years old
18 years old
Punishments for Violating the Age Of Consent in Nevada
Nevada has ten statutory sexual abuse charges on the books which are used to prosecute age of consent and child abuse related crimes within the state. One or more of these charges may be used to prosecute violations of the Nevada Age of Consent, as statutory rape or the Nevada equivalent of that charge.
The severity of the criminal charge (felony, misdemeanor, etc) depends on the specifics of the acts committed and the relative ages of the perpetrator and victim. Click any charge for more detailed information.
|Commission of certain sexual acts in public||Category D felony||Imprisonment at least 1 year and not more than four years, and a maximum fine of $5,000|
|Lewdness with child under 14 years||Category A felony||Life in prison without the possibility of parole; Life imprisonment with the possibility of parole after 10 years, and a maximum fine of $10,000|
|Sexual Assault||Category A felony||Life with a chance for parole after 20 years; Either life with the chance for parole after serving 20 years, or a term of 20 years with chance for parole after 5 years of imprisonment; Life without chance for parole|
|Sexual conduct between certain employees of college or university and student||Category C felony||A prison term of 1 to 5 years and/or a maximum fine of $10,000|
|Sexual conduct between certain employees of school or volunteers at school and pupil||Category B felony; Category C felony||Minimum imprisonment for a term of one year and a maximum imprisonment for 6 years, and a fine $5,000 or less; A prison term of 1 to 5 years and/or a maximum fine of $10,000|
|Solicitation of minor to engage in acts constituting crime against nature||Category A felony; Gross misdemeanor||Life in prison with the possibility of parole after 5 years; Life imprisonment with a possibility for parole after 5 years; Life imprisonment with a possibility for parole after 10 years; Up to a $2,000 fine, and/or a maximum of 1 year in prison|
|Statutory Sexual Seduction||Category C felony; Gross Misdemeanor||Offender is punished according to NRS 193.130, or NRS 201.540|
|Unlawful Possession of visual presentation depicting sexual conduct of person under 16 years of age||Category A felony; Category B felony||Punishable by a minimum term of imprisonment for 1 year and a maximum term of life with possibility for parole, and a fine $5,000 or less; Punishable by a minimum of imprisonment for 1 year and a maximum of 6 years, and a fine of not more than $5,000|
|Unlawful preparing, advertising or distributing materials depicting pornography involving minor||Category B felony||Either imprisonment for a minimum term of 1 year, and a maximum term of 15 years, or a maximum fine $15,000, or both|
|Use of Internet to control visual presentation depicting sexual conduct of person or persons under the age of 16||Category B felony; Category C felony||Imprisonment for a minimum of 1 year and a maximum of 6 years, and a maximum fine of $5,000; Imprisonment is a minimum of 1 year and a maximum of 5 years, and a fine of less than $10,000|
Back to list of state ages of consent View international ages of consent