North Dakota Age of Consent & Sex Laws North Dakota Age of Consent Laws 2017

What is the North Dakota Age of Consent?

The North Dakota Age of Consent is 18 years old. In the United States, the age of consent is the minimum age at which an individual is considered legally old enough to consent to participation in sexual activity. Individuals aged 17 or younger in North Dakota are not legally able to consent to sexual activity, and such activity may result in prosecution for statutory rape.

North Dakota statutory rape law is violated when a person has consensual sexual intercourse with an individual under age 18.

View list of sexual assault laws & punishments in North Dakota

North Dakota does not have a close-in-age exemption. Close in age exemptions, commonly known as "Romeo and Juliet laws", are put in place to prevent the prosecution of individuals who engage in consensual sexual activity when both participants are significantly close in age to each other, and one or both partners are below the age of consent.

Because there is no such "Romeo and Juliet law" in North Dakota, it is possible for two individuals both under the age of 18 who willingly engage in intercourse to both be prosecuted for statutory rape, although this is rare. Similarly, no protections are reserved for sexual relations in which one participant is a 17 year old and the second is a 18 or 19 year old.


Age of Consent across the United States

The Age of Consent ranges state-by-state from 16 to 18 years old across the United States. Click the map to view any state's age of consent laws.

Age Of Consent:

16 years old
17 years old
18 years old

Punishments for Violating the Age Of Consent in North Dakota

North Dakota has six statutory sexual abuse charges on the books which are used to prosecute age of consent and child abuse related crimes within the state. One or more of these charges may be used to prosecute violations of the North Dakota Age of Consent, as statutory rape or the North Dakota equivalent of that charge.

The severity of the criminal charge (felony, misdemeanor, etc) depends on the specifics of the acts committed and the relative ages of the perpetrator and victim. Click any charge for more detailed information.

Criminal Charge Severity Punishment
Continuous sexual abuse of a child Class A felony; Class AA felony Up to 20 years in prison and/or a maximum fine of $10,000;
Corruption or solicitation of minors Class A misdemeanor; Class B felony; Class C felony Up to 1 year in prison and/or a maximum fine of $2,000; Up to 10 years in prison and/or a maximum fine of $10,000; Up to 5 years in prison and/or a maximum fine of $5,000
Fornication Class B misdemeanor Up to 30 days in prison and/or a maximum fine of $1,000
Gross sexual imposition Class A felony; Class AA felony Up to 20 years in prison and/or a maximum fine of $10,000;
Luring minors by computer or other electronic means Class A misdemeanor; Class B felony; Class C felony Up to 1 year in prison and/or a maximum fine of $2,000; Up to 10 years in prison and/or a maximum fine of $10,000; Up to 5 years in prison and/or a maximum fine of $5,000
Sexual assault Class A misdemeanor; Class C felony Up to 1 year in prison and/or a maximum fine of $2,000; Up to 5 years in prison and/or a maximum fine of $5,000

Back to list of state ages of consent View international ages of consent

** This Document Provided By AgeOfConsent.net **
Source: http://www.ageofconsent.net/states/north-dakota