Continuous sexual abuse of a child - North Dakota Sexual Assault Laws
Continuous sexual abuse of a child Crime & Punishment in North Dakota :
The North Dakota code § 12.1-20-03.1 defines two degrees of the crime continuous sexual abuse of a child, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Continuous sexual abuse of a child - Charge Description||Punishment|
Class A felony
|Up to 20 years in prison and/or a maximum fine of $10,000|
Class AA felony
|If offender engaged in three or more sexual acts or sexual contacts with a victim under the age of 15 during a period of three or more months, and offender is at least 22 years of age at the time of the offense.|
North Dakota law allows continuous sexual abuse of a child to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the North Dakota Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Continuous sexual abuse of a child defined in other states :
Continuous sexual abuse of a child is a charge in a total of one other state(s). The exact definition, charge type, and potential sentencing of this charge varying state to state. For further details please refer to the state page.
|Delaware||Class B Felony||2-20 years|