Oklahoma Age of Consent Laws 2023
What is the Oklahoma Age of Consent?
The Oklahoma Age of Consent is 16 years old. In the United States, the age of consent is the minimum age at which an individual is considered legally old enough to consent to participation in sexual activity. Individuals aged 15 or younger in Oklahoma are not legally able to consent to sexual activity, and such activity may result in prosecution for statutory rape.
Oklahoma statutory rape law is violated when a person has consensual sexual intercourse with an individual under age 16. A close in age exemption allows minors over age 14 to consent to a partner younger than 18.
Oklahoma has a close-in-age exemption. A close in age exemption, also known as "Romeo and Juliet law", is designed to prevent the prosecution of underage couples who engage in consensual sex when both participants are significantly close in age to each other, and one or both are below the age of consent.
Depending on the situation, the Oklahoma close-in-age exemption may completely exempt qualifying close-in-age couples from the age of consent law, or merely provide a legal defence that can be used in the event of prosecution.
Age of Consent across the United States
The Age of Consent ranges state-by-state from 16 to 18 years old across the United States. Click the map to view any state's age of consent laws.
Age Of Consent:16 years old
17 years old
18 years old
Punishments for Violating the Age Of Consent in Oklahoma
Oklahoma has four statutory sexual abuse charges on the books which are used to prosecute age of consent and child abuse related crimes within the state. One or more of these charges may be used to prosecute violations of the Oklahoma Age of Consent, as statutory rape or the Oklahoma equivalent of that charge.
The severity of the criminal charge (felony, misdemeanor, etc) depends on the specifics of the acts committed and the relative ages of the perpetrator and victim. Click any charge for more detailed information.
|Forcible sodomy||Felony||Maximum sentence of 20 years|
|Lewd or indecent proposals or acts upon a child under 16 or person believed to be under 16||Felony||Provided that actor is 3+ years older than victim, sentence of 1-20 years; subsequent convictions given life or life w/o parole|
|Rape- first degree||Felony||Punishable by death or imprisonment in the State Penitentiary for a minimum of 5 years.|
|Sexual battery||Felony||Sentence of 1-15 years|
Back to list of state ages of consent View international ages of consent