Hawaii Age of Consent Laws 2023
What is the Hawaii Age of Consent?
The Hawaii Age of Consent is 16 years old. In the United States, the age of consent is the minimum age at which an individual is considered legally old enough to consent to participation in sexual activity. Individuals aged 15 or younger in Hawaii are not legally able to consent to sexual activity, and such activity may result in prosecution for statutory rape.
Hawaii statutory rape law is violated when a person has consensual sexual intercourse with an individual under age 16. Close in age exemptions exist, allowing teens ages 14 and 15 to consent to partners less than 5 years older.
Hawaii has a close-in-age exemption. A close in age exemption, also known as "Romeo and Juliet law", is designed to prevent the prosecution of underage couples who engage in consensual sex when both participants are significantly close in age to each other, and one or both are below the age of consent.
Depending on the situation, the Hawaii close-in-age exemption may completely exempt qualifying close-in-age couples from the age of consent law, or merely provide a legal defence that can be used in the event of prosecution.
Punishments for Violating the Age Of Consent in Hawaii
Hawaii has one statutory sexual abuse charges on the books which are used to prosecute age of consent and child abuse related crimes within the state. One or more of these charges may be used to prosecute violations of the Hawaii Age of Consent, as statutory rape or the Hawaii equivalent of that charge.
The severity of the criminal charge (felony, misdemeanor, etc) depends on the specifics of the acts committed and the relative ages of the perpetrator and victim. Click any charge for more detailed information.
|Continuous sexual assault of a minor under the age of 14 years||Class A felony||Up to 20 years in jail|