Sexual assault - North Dakota Sexual Assault Laws
Sexual assault Crime & Punishment in North Dakota :
The North Dakota code § 12.1-20-07 defines three degrees of the crime sexual assault, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Sexual assault - Charge Description||Punishment|
Class A misdemeanor
|If offender knowingly has sexual contact with victim or causes another person to have sexual contact with victim, and victim is a minor age 15 or above, and offender is at least age 18 but under 22 years old.||Up to 1 year in prison and/or a maximum fine of $2,000|
Class B misdemeanor
||If offender knowingly has sexual contact with victim or causes another person to have sexual contact with victim, and offender knows or has reasonable cause to believe that the contact is offensive to victim.||Up to 30 days in prison and/or a maximum fine of $1,000|
Class C felony
||Up to 5 years in prison and/or a maximum fine of $5,000|
North Dakota law allows sexual assault to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the North Dakota Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Sexual assault defined in other states :
Sexual assault is a charge in a total of ten other state(s). The exact definition, charge type, and potential sentencing of this charge varying state to state. For further details please refer to the state page.
|Arizona||Class 2 felony||First offense is 5.25 to 14 years and a Prior felony means 7-21 years. Force or threat of force against the victim or Two or more felonies is 14-28 years. If the victim is under 12, life in prison.|
|Colorado||Class 1 misdemeanor; Class 2 felony; Class 3 felony; Class 4 felony||6-18 month sentence; $500-5,000 fine; 8-20 years; 5 years mandatory parole; $5,000-one million dollar fine; ; 2 to 6 years in prison|
|Missouri||Class C Felony||Up to 7 years|
|Montana||2 to 100 years and fine of up to $50,000; County jail sentence not to exceed 6 months, fine up to $500, or both|
|Nevada||Category A felony||Life with a chance for parole after 20 years; Either life with the chance for parole after serving 20 years, or a term of 20 years with chance for parole after 5 years of imprisonment; Life without chance for parole; Either life without parole, life with a chance for parole after 15 years, or term of 40 years with chance for parole after 15 years.; Life with a chance for parole after 10 years, or term of 25 years with parole chance after 10 years.|
|New Hampshire||Class A misdemeanor||A maximum of 1 year in jail|
|New Jersey||Crime of 1st degree; Crime of 2nd degree||10 to 20 years in prison; 5 to 10 years in prison|
|Pennsylvania||Felony of the second degree||A maximum of 10 years in prison and up to $25,000 in fines|
|Texas||Felony of the first degree; Felony of the second degree||Maximum of life in prison and/or a maximum fine of $10,000; Maximum of 20 years in prison and/or a maximum fine of $10,000|
|Vermont||Felony||A maximum of 20 years, and/or a maximum fine of $10,000; 3 years-life, and/or a maximum fine of $25,000|