Fornication - North Dakota Sexual Assault Laws
Fornication Crime & Punishment in North Dakota :
The North Dakota code § 12.1-20-08 defines two degrees of the crime fornication, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Fornication - Charge Description||Punishment|
Class A misdemeanor
||Individual is guilty of this offense if the individual engages in a sexual act in a public place.||Up to 1 year in prison and/or a maximum fine of $2,000|
Class B misdemeanor
|A minor engaging in a sexual act is guilty of this offense unless that sexual act was committed against the minor.||Up to 30 days in prison and/or a maximum fine of $1,000|
North Dakota law allows fornication to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the North Dakota Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Fornication is a charge that is unique to North Dakota. Crimes that would be prosecuted as fornication in North Dakota will be prosecuted under a different statute depending on the state in which the crime takes place.