Rape- third degree - Oregon Sexual Assault Laws
In Oregon, the criminal charge of Rape- third degree is classified as a Statutory Class C felony.
Rape- third degree Crime & Punishment in Oregon :
The Oregon code § 163.355 defines one degrees of the crime rape- third degree, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Rape- third degree - Charge Description||Punishment|
Class C felony
|A person commits the crime of rape in the third degree if the person has sexual intercourse with another person under 16 years of age.||Up to 5 years; $100,000 fine|
Oregon law allows rape- third degree to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the Oregon Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Rape- third degree defined in other states :
Rape- third degree is a charge in a total of five other state(s). The exact definition, charge type, and potential sentencing of this charge varying state to state. For further details please refer to the state page.
|Delaware||Class B felony||2-20 years|
|Kentucky||Class D felony||1-5 years in prison|
|New York||Class E felony||A maximum of 4 years in jail|
|South Dakota||Class 2 felony||A maximum of 25 years in prison and a maximum of $50,000 in fines|
|Washington||Class C felony||Maximum of 5 years in prison, and/or a fine of $10,000|