Unlawful contact with a child - Oregon Sexual Assault Laws
In Oregon, the criminal charge of Unlawful contact with a child is classified as a Statutory Class C felony.
Unlawful contact with a child Crime & Punishment in Oregon :
The Oregon code § 163.479 defines one degrees of the crime unlawful contact with a child, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Unlawful contact with a child - Charge Description||Punishment|
Class C felony
||Up to 5 years; $100,000 fine|
Oregon law allows unlawful contact with a child to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the Oregon Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Unlawful contact with a child is a charge that is unique to Oregon. Crimes that would be prosecuted as unlawful contact with a child in Oregon will be prosecuted under a different statute depending on the state in which the crime takes place.