Molestation of child under 15 - Arizona Sexual Assault Laws
In Arizona, the criminal charge of Molestation of child under 15 is classified as a Statutory Class 2 felony.
Molestation of child under 15 Crime & Punishment in Arizona :
The Arizona code § 13-1410 defines one degrees of the crime molestation of child under 15, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Molestation of child under 15 - Charge Description||Punishment|
Class 2 felony
|(1) If the minor is under age 15, five years in prison; (2) if the offender is at least age 18 or is tried as an adult and the minor was age 12 or younger, life in prison and the offender is ineligible for release until serving 35 years; (3) if the offender is at least 18 or tried as an adult and the victim is age 12, 13, or 14, the presumptive sentence is 20 years|
Arizona law allows molestation of child under 15 to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the Arizona Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Molestation of child under 15 is a charge that is unique to Arizona. Crimes that would be prosecuted as molestation of child under 15 in Arizona will be prosecuted under a different statute depending on the state in which the crime takes place.