Sexual indecency with a child - Arkansas Sexual Assault Laws
In Arkansas, the criminal charge of Sexual indecency with a child is classified as a Statutory Class D felony.
Sexual indecency with a child Crime & Punishment in Arkansas :
The Arkansas code § 5-14-110 defines one degrees of the crime sexual indecency with a child, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Sexual indecency with a child - Charge Description||Punishment|
Class D felony
|Maximum of 6 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.|
Arkansas law allows sexual indecency with a child to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the Arkansas Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Sexual indecency with a child is a charge that is unique to Arkansas. Crimes that would be prosecuted as sexual indecency with a child in Arkansas will be prosecuted under a different statute depending on the state in which the crime takes place.