Sexual Assault on a child - Colorado Sexual Assault Laws
Sexual Assault on a child Crime & Punishment in Colorado :
The Colorado code § 18-3-405 defines two degrees of the crime sexual assault on a child, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Sexual Assault on a child - Charge Description||Punishment|
Class 3 felony
|If actor applies force against victim in order to accomplish or facilitate sexual contact, threatens imminent death, serious bodily injury, extreme pain, or kidnapping against victim or another person, and victim believes that the actor has the present ability to execute the threat, threatens retaliation by causing in the future the death or serious bodily injury, extreme pain, or kidnapping against victim or another person, and victim believes that actor will execute the threat or commits offense as part of a pattern of sexual abuse.||2-24 years in prison and/or a $3000-$750,000 fine.|
Class 4 felony
|1-12 years in prison and/or a $2000-$500,000 fine.|
Colorado law allows sexual assault on a child to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the Colorado Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Sexual Assault on a child is a charge that is unique to Colorado. Crimes that would be prosecuted as sexual assault on a child in Colorado will be prosecuted under a different statute depending on the state in which the crime takes place.