Aggravated sexual assault- first degree - Connecticut Sexual Assault Laws
Aggravated sexual assault- first degree Crime & Punishment in Connecticut :
The Connecticut code § 53a-70a defines two degrees of the crime aggravated sexual assault- first degree, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Aggravated sexual assault- first degree - Charge Description||Punishment|
Class A felony
|If victim is under 16||25 to 60 years in prison, maximum fine of $20,000|
Class B felony
||1 to 20 years in prison, up to a $15,000 fine|
Connecticut law allows aggravated sexual assault- first degree to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the Connecticut Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Aggravated sexual assault- first degree is a charge that is unique to Connecticut. Crimes that would be prosecuted as aggravated sexual assault- first degree in Connecticut will be prosecuted under a different statute depending on the state in which the crime takes place.