Aggravated sexual assault of a minor - Connecticut Sexual Assault Laws
In Connecticut, the criminal charge of Aggravated sexual assault of a minor is classified as a Statutory Class A felony.
Aggravated sexual assault of a minor Crime & Punishment in Connecticut :
The Connecticut code § 53a-70c defines one degrees of the crime aggravated sexual assault of a minor, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Aggravated sexual assault of a minor - Charge Description||Punishment|
Class A felony
|25 to 60 years in prison, maximum fine of $20,000|
Connecticut law allows aggravated sexual assault of a minor to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the Connecticut Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Aggravated sexual assault of a minor is a charge that is unique to Connecticut. Crimes that would be prosecuted as aggravated sexual assault of a minor in Connecticut will be prosecuted under a different statute depending on the state in which the crime takes place.