First degree sexual assault - Connecticut Sexual Assault Laws
First degree sexual assault Crime & Punishment in Connecticut :
The Connecticut code § 53a-70 defines two degrees of the crime first degree sexual assault, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||First degree sexual assault - Charge Description||Punishment|
Class A felony
|If victim is under sixteen and perpetrator uses force or threatens force, or if victim is under 13 and perpetrator is more than two years older than victim.||25 to 60 years in prison, maximum fine of $20,000|
Class B felony
|1 to 20 years in prison, up to a $15,000 fine|
Connecticut law allows first degree sexual assault to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the Connecticut Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
First degree sexual assault is a charge that is unique to Connecticut. Crimes that would be prosecuted as first degree sexual assault in Connecticut will be prosecuted under a different statute depending on the state in which the crime takes place.