Aggravated child molestation - Georgia Sexual Assault Laws
Aggravated child molestation Crime & Punishment in Georgia :
The Georgia code § 16-6-4 defines two degrees of the crime aggravated child molestation, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Aggravated child molestation - Charge Description||Punishment|
|Punishable by life imprisonment or 25-life followed by probation for life|
||Jail time not to exceed 12 months and/or a fine not to exceed $1,000.00|
Georgia law allows aggravated child molestation to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the Georgia Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Aggravated child molestation is a charge that is unique to Georgia. Crimes that would be prosecuted as aggravated child molestation in Georgia will be prosecuted under a different statute depending on the state in which the crime takes place.