Aggravated sodomy - Georgia Sexual Assault Laws
Aggravated sodomy Crime & Punishment in Georgia :
The Georgia code § 16-6-22.2 defines two degrees of the crime aggravated sodomy, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Aggravated sodomy - Charge Description||Punishment|
|A person commits the offense of aggravated sodomy when he or she commits sodomy with force and against the will of the other person or when he or she commits sodomy with a person who is less than ten years of age. The fact that the person allegedly sodomized is the spouse of a defendant shall not be a defense to a charge of aggravated sodomy.||Minimum of 25 years|
|If the victim is at least 13 but less than 16 and the offender is 18 or younger and is no more than four years older than the victim||Jail time not to exceed 12 months and/or a fine not to exceed $1,000.00|
Georgia law allows aggravated sodomy to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the Georgia Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Aggravated sodomy is a charge that is unique to Georgia. Crimes that would be prosecuted as aggravated sodomy in Georgia will be prosecuted under a different statute depending on the state in which the crime takes place.