Child molestation - Georgia Sexual Assault Laws

In Georgia, the criminal charge of Child molestation is classified as a Statutory Felony.

Child molestation Crime & Punishment in Georgia :

The Georgia code § 16-6-4 defines one degrees of the crime child molestation, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.

Severity Child molestation - Charge Description Punishment
  • Second or subsequent conviction
  • First offense
  • Punishable by imprisonment for10-30 years or by imprisonment for life.
  • Punishable by imprisonment for not less than five nor more than 20 years

Georgia law allows child molestation to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the Georgia Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.

Child molestation is a charge that is unique to Georgia. Crimes that would be prosecuted as child molestation in Georgia will be prosecuted under a different statute depending on the state in which the crime takes place.

Back to list of Georgia laws

** This Document Provided By **