Criminal sexual abuse - Illinois Sexual Assault Laws
Criminal sexual abuse Crime & Punishment in Illinois :
The Illinois code § 5/11-1.50 defines three degrees of the crime criminal sexual abuse, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Criminal sexual abuse - Charge Description||Punishment|
Class 2 felony
||If offender is convicted more than once of committing an act of sexual conduct by the use or threat of force.||3-7 years in prison|
Class 4 felony
||1-3 years in prison|
Class A misdemeanor
||Less than one year|
Illinois law allows criminal sexual abuse to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the Illinois Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Criminal sexual abuse is a charge that is unique to Illinois. Crimes that would be prosecuted as criminal sexual abuse in Illinois will be prosecuted under a different statute depending on the state in which the crime takes place.