Indecent solicitation of a child - Illinois Sexual Assault Laws
Indecent solicitation of a child Crime & Punishment in Illinois :
The Illinois code § 5/11-6 defines four degrees of the crime indecent solicitation of a child, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Indecent solicitation of a child - Charge Description
Class 1 felony
|4-15 years in prison
Class 2 felony
|When the act, if done, would be criminal sexual assault.
|3-7 years in prison
Class 3 felony
|When the act, if done, would be aggravated criminal sexual abuse.
|2-5 years in prison
Class 4 felony
|If the offender discusses an act of sexual conduct or sexual penetration with a child or person whom the offender believes is a child by means of the Internet.
|1-3 years in prison
Illinois law allows indecent solicitation of a child to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the Illinois Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Indecent solicitation of a child is a charge that is unique to Illinois. Crimes that would be prosecuted as indecent solicitation of a child in Illinois will be prosecuted under a different statute depending on the state in which the crime takes place.