Lascivious conduct with a minor - Iowa Sexual Assault Laws
In Iowa, the criminal charge of Lascivious conduct with a minor is classified as a Statutory Serious misdemeanor.
Lascivious conduct with a minor Crime & Punishment in Iowa :
The Iowa code § 709.14 defines one degrees of the crime lascivious conduct with a minor, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Lascivious conduct with a minor - Charge Description||Punishment|
|A person over 18 years of age who is in a position of authority over a minor to force, persuade, or coerce a minor, with or without consent, to disrobe or partially disrobe for the purpose of arousing or satisfying the sexual desires of either of them.||Up to one year in jail and a maximum fine of $1,875|
Iowa law allows lascivious conduct with a minor to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the Iowa Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Lascivious conduct with a minor is a charge that is unique to Iowa. Crimes that would be prosecuted as lascivious conduct with a minor in Iowa will be prosecuted under a different statute depending on the state in which the crime takes place.