Criminal Sodomy - Kansas Sexual Assault Laws
Criminal Sodomy Crime & Punishment in Kansas :
The Kansas code § 21-5504 defines two degrees of the crime criminal sodomy, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Criminal Sodomy - Charge Description||Punishment|
Class B nonperson misdemeanor
||Up to 6 months in prison|
Severity Level 3 person
|If victim is child between 14-16.||59 months in prison|
Kansas law allows criminal sodomy to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the Kansas Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Criminal Sodomy is a charge that is unique to Kansas. Crimes that would be prosecuted as criminal sodomy in Kansas will be prosecuted under a different statute depending on the state in which the crime takes place.