Sexual Abuse of minors - Maine Sexual Assault Laws
Sexual Abuse of minors Crime & Punishment in Maine :
The Maine code § 254 defines three degrees of the crime sexual abuse of minors, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Sexual Abuse of minors - Charge Description
|If penetration involved.
|Up to 10 years
|Up to 5 Years
|Up to 1 year
Maine law allows sexual abuse of minors to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the Maine Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Sexual Abuse of minors is a charge that is unique to Maine. Crimes that would be prosecuted as sexual abuse of minors in Maine will be prosecuted under a different statute depending on the state in which the crime takes place.