Sexual Misconduct - Maine Sexual Assault Laws
In Maine, the criminal charge of Sexual Misconduct is classified as a Statutory Class D Crime.
Sexual Misconduct Crime & Punishment in Maine :
The Maine code § 258 defines one degrees of the crime sexual misconduct, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Sexual Misconduct - Charge Description||Punishment|
Class D Crime
|If victim is a child under 14.||Up to 1 year|
Maine law allows sexual misconduct to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the Maine Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Sexual Misconduct defined in other states :
Sexual Misconduct is a charge in a total of three other state(s). The exact definition, charge type, and potential sentencing of this charge varying state to state. For further details please refer to the state page.
|Alabama||Class A misdemeanor||Up to one (1) year and a fine up to $6,000.00|
|Kentucky||Class A misdemeanor||Up to 12 months in prison and/or fine up to $500|
|Oregon||Class C misdemeanor||A maximum prison sentence of 30 days and/or a maximum fine of $1250|