Assault with intent to rape - Massachusetts Sexual Assault Laws

In Massachusetts, the criminal charge of Assault with intent to rape is classified as a unspecified crime.

Assault with intent to rape Crime & Punishment in Massachusetts :

The Massachusetts code § 22A defines one degrees of the crime assault with intent to rape, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.

Severity Assault with intent to rape - Charge Description Punishment

  • If committed with firearm.
  • 5 year minimum state prison sentence (second offense with firearm: 20 years to life)
  • State prison for not more than 20 years or jail time/corrections house for not more than 2.5 years (second offense punished by state prison sentence of up to life)

Assault with intent to rape is a charge that is unique to Massachusetts. Crimes that would be prosecuted as assault with intent to rape in Massachusetts will be prosecuted under a different statute depending on the state in which the crime takes place.

Back to list of Massachusetts laws

** This Document Provided By **