Rape of child under 16 - Massachusetts Sexual Assault Laws

In Massachusetts, the criminal charge of Rape of child under 16 is classified as a Statutory unspecified crime.

Rape of child under 16 Crime & Punishment in Massachusetts :

The Massachusetts code § 22A defines one degrees of the crime rape of child under 16, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.

Severity Rape of child under 16 - Charge Description Punishment

  • When force or threat used.
  • If committed w/ firearm.
  • If offender is over 18 and commits subsequent offense.
  • Up to life in prison
  • 10 years to life (subsequent offense w/ firearm when over 18 sentenced to 20 years-life)
  • 5 years to life

Massachusetts law allows rape of child under 16 to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the Massachusetts Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.

Rape of child under 16 is a charge that is unique to Massachusetts. Crimes that would be prosecuted as rape of child under 16 in Massachusetts will be prosecuted under a different statute depending on the state in which the crime takes place.

Back to list of Massachusetts laws

** This Document Provided By AgeOfConsent.net **
Source: http://www.ageofconsent.net/laws/massachusetts/rape-of-child-under-16