Ritual abuse of minors - Montana Sexual Assault Laws

In Montana, the criminal charge of Ritual abuse of minors is classified as a Statutory unspecified crime.

Ritual abuse of minors Crime & Punishment in Montana :

The Montana code § 45-5-627 defines one degrees of the crime ritual abuse of minors, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.

Severity Ritual abuse of minors - Charge Description Punishment

  • For a second or subsequent offense.
  • If first offense.
  • For a second or subsequent offense, punishable by imprisonment for any term of not less than two years or more than 40 years and a fine not to exceed $50,000, or both. In addition, after determining the financial resources and future ability of the offender to pay restitution, the court shall require the offender, if able, to pay victim’s reasonable costs of counseling that result from the offense.
  • Imprisonment for a term of not less than two years or more than 20 years and a fine not to exceed $50,000, or both.

Montana law allows ritual abuse of minors to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the Montana Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.

Ritual abuse of minors is a charge that is unique to Montana. Crimes that would be prosecuted as ritual abuse of minors in Montana will be prosecuted under a different statute depending on the state in which the crime takes place.

Back to list of Montana laws

** This Document Provided By AgeOfConsent.net **
Source: http://www.ageofconsent.net/laws/montana/ritual-abuse-of-minors