Sexual Assault of a child - Nebraska Sexual Assault Laws
Sexual Assault of a child Crime & Punishment in Nebraska :
The Nebraska code § 28-319.01 defines two degrees of the crime sexual assault of a child, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Sexual Assault of a child - Charge Description||Punishment|
Class 1C felony
|If subsequent offenses.||20 to 50 years in prison|
Class 3A felony
|1 to 5 years; $10,000 fine|
Nebraska law allows sexual assault of a child to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the Nebraska Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Sexual Assault of a child is a charge that is unique to Nebraska. Crimes that would be prosecuted as sexual assault of a child in Nebraska will be prosecuted under a different statute depending on the state in which the crime takes place.