Indecent exposure - New Hampshire Sexual Assault Laws
Indecent exposure Crime & Punishment in New Hampshire :
The New Hampshire code § 645:1 defines three degrees of the crime indecent exposure, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Indecent exposure - Charge Description||Punishment|
Class A felony
||If the offender has been previously convicted of two or more similar offenses, or a reasonably equivalent statute in another state||A maximum of 7 ½ to 15 years in prison and a fine up to $4,000.|
Class B felony
|If the acts were committed against a victim who is under the age of 16, or a person who the actor reasonably believes is under age 16, or offender is guilty of second offense or of an offense that includes the same conduct under any other jurisdiction||A maximum of 7 years in prison|
||When a person fornicates, exposes his or her genitals, or performs any other act of gross lewdness when he or she is under circumstances in which he or she should know that the acts would likely cause affront or alarm.||Up to 12 months in prison|
New Hampshire law allows indecent exposure to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the New Hampshire Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Indecent exposure defined in other states :
Indecent exposure is a charge in a total of three other state(s). The exact definition, charge type, and potential sentencing of this charge varying state to state. For further details please refer to the state page.
|Arkansas||Class A misdemeanor; Class D felony||Not more than 1 year; up to $1,000 fine; Maximum of 6 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.|
|Hawaii||Petty misdemeanor||A maximum of 6 months in prison, and/or probationary terms of 6-12 months and/or a maximum fine of $1000.|
|Montana||Third or subsequent conviction, punishable by life imprisonment, or imprisonment for a term of not less than 5 years or more than 100 years and a fine of not more than $10,000.; Second conviction is punishable by a fine not to exceed $1,000 or imprisonment for a term of not more than 1 year, or both.; Fine not to exceed $500 or imprisonment for a term of not more than 6 months, or both|