Lewdness - New Jersey Sexual Assault Laws
Lewdness Crime & Punishment in New Jersey :
The New Jersey code § 2C:14-4 defines two degrees of the crime lewdness, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Lewdness - Charge Description||Punishment|
Crime of 4th degree
||Up to 18 months of prison time|
Disorderly persons offense
||If offender does any flagrantly lewd and offensive act which he knows or reasonably expects is likely to be observed by other non-consenting persons who would be affronted or alarmed||Jail time is not to exceed 6 months|
New Jersey law allows lewdness to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the New Jersey Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Lewdness is a charge that is unique to New Jersey. Crimes that would be prosecuted as lewdness in New Jersey will be prosecuted under a different statute depending on the state in which the crime takes place.