Criminal sexual contact - New Mexico Sexual Assault Laws
In New Mexico, the criminal charge of Criminal sexual contact is classified as a Misdemeanor.
Criminal sexual contact Crime & Punishment in New Mexico :
The New Mexico code § 30-9-12 defines one degrees of the crime criminal sexual contact, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Criminal sexual contact - Charge Description||Punishment|
||The unlawful and intentional touching of or application of force, without consent, to the unclothed intimate parts of a victim above the age of eighteen, or intentionally causing another who is over eighteen to touch one's intimate parts when perpetrated with the use of force or coercion||Up to 364 days in jail, a $1,000.00 maximum fine and up to 1 year probation|
Criminal sexual contact defined in other states :
Criminal sexual contact is a charge in a total of one other state(s). The exact definition, charge type, and potential sentencing of this charge varying state to state. For further details please refer to the state page.
|New Jersey||Crime of 3rd degree; Crime of 4th degree||3 to 5 years in jail; Up to 18 months in jail|