Criminal Sexual Penetration- fourth degree - New Mexico Sexual Assault Laws
In New Mexico, the criminal charge of Criminal Sexual Penetration- fourth degree is classified as a Statutory Fourth degree felony.
Criminal Sexual Penetration- fourth degree Crime & Punishment in New Mexico :
The New Mexico code § 30-9-11 defines one degrees of the crime criminal sexual penetration- fourth degree, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Criminal Sexual Penetration- fourth degree - Charge Description||Punishment|
Fourth degree felony
|The unlawful and intentional causing of a person to engage in sexual intercourse, cunnilingus, fellatio or anal intercourse or the causing of penetration, to any extent and with any object, of the genital or anal openings of another, whether or not there is any emission, when the victim is a minor 13 to 16 years of age and when offender is at least 18 years old, and is at least four years older than the victim and is not the spouse of the minor.||18 months in prison|
New Mexico law allows criminal sexual penetration- fourth degree to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the New Mexico Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Criminal Sexual Penetration- fourth degree is a charge that is unique to New Mexico. Crimes that would be prosecuted as criminal sexual penetration- fourth degree in New Mexico will be prosecuted under a different statute depending on the state in which the crime takes place.