Enticement of child - New Mexico Sexual Assault Laws
In New Mexico, the criminal charge of Enticement of child is classified as a Statutory Misdemeanor.
Enticement of child Crime & Punishment in New Mexico :
The New Mexico code § 30-9-1 defines one degrees of the crime enticement of child, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Enticement of child - Charge Description||Punishment|
||Up to 364 days in jail, a $1,000.00 maximum fine and up to 1 year probation|
New Mexico law allows enticement of child to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the New Mexico Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Enticement of child is a charge that is unique to New Mexico. Crimes that would be prosecuted as enticement of child in New Mexico will be prosecuted under a different statute depending on the state in which the crime takes place.