Rape of a child (under 13) - North Carolina Sexual Assault Laws
In North Carolina, the criminal charge of Rape of a child (under 13) is classified as a Statutory Class B1 felony.
Rape of a child (under 13) Crime & Punishment in North Carolina :
The North Carolina code § 14-27.2A defines one degrees of the crime rape of a child (under 13), each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Rape of a child (under 13) - Charge Description||Punishment|
Class B1 felony
|A person is guilty of rape of a child if the person is at least 18 years of age and engages in vaginal intercourse with a victim who is a child under the age of 13 years.||Minimum sentence of imprisonment is 25 years (defendant is give life w/o parole if victim under 12 or if defendant has prior B1 conviction )|
North Carolina law allows rape of a child (under 13) to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the North Carolina Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Rape of a child (under 13) is a charge that is unique to North Carolina. Crimes that would be prosecuted as rape of a child (under 13) in North Carolina will be prosecuted under a different statute depending on the state in which the crime takes place.