Statutory sexual assault - Pennsylvania Sexual Assault Laws
Statutory sexual assault Crime & Punishment in Pennsylvania :
The Pennsylvania code § 3122.1 defines two degrees of the crime statutory sexual assault, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Statutory sexual assault - Charge Description||Punishment|
Felony of the first degree
|When that person engages in sexual intercourse with a victim under the age of 16 years and that person is 11 or more years older than the victim and the victim and the person are not married to each other.||A maximum of 20 years in prison and up to $25,000 in fines|
Felony of the second degree
||A maximum of 10 years in prison and up to $25,000 in fines|
Pennsylvania law allows statutory sexual assault to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the Pennsylvania Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Statutory sexual assault is a charge that is unique to Pennsylvania. Crimes that would be prosecuted as statutory sexual assault in Pennsylvania will be prosecuted under a different statute depending on the state in which the crime takes place.