Criminal Pedophilia - South Dakota Sexual Assault Laws
In South Dakota, the criminal charge of Criminal Pedophilia is classified as a Statutory Class 1 felony.
Criminal Pedophilia Crime & Punishment in South Dakota :
The South Dakota code § 22-22-30.1 defines one degrees of the crime criminal pedophilia, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Criminal Pedophilia - Charge Description||Punishment|
Class 1 felony
|Any act of sexual penetration accomplished with a victim less than thirteen years of age by any person twenty-six years of age or older.||A maximum of 50 years in prison and a maximum of $50,000 in fines|
South Dakota law allows criminal pedophilia to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the South Dakota Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Criminal Pedophilia is a charge that is unique to South Dakota. Crimes that would be prosecuted as criminal pedophilia in South Dakota will be prosecuted under a different statute depending on the state in which the crime takes place.