Aggravated statutory rape - Tennessee Sexual Assault Laws
In Tennessee, the criminal charge of Aggravated statutory rape is classified as a Statutory Class D felony.
Aggravated statutory rape Crime & Punishment in Tennessee :
The Tennessee code § 39-13-506 defines one degrees of the crime aggravated statutory rape, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Aggravated statutory rape - Charge Description||Punishment|
Class D felony
|If victim is at least 13 but under 18, and offender is at least 10 years older than victim.||Maximum of 12 years in prison and a maximum fine $5,000|
Tennessee law allows aggravated statutory rape to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the Tennessee Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Aggravated statutory rape is a charge that is unique to Tennessee. Crimes that would be prosecuted as aggravated statutory rape in Tennessee will be prosecuted under a different statute depending on the state in which the crime takes place.