Mitigated statutory rape - Tennessee Sexual Assault Laws
In Tennessee, the criminal charge of Mitigated statutory rape is classified as a Statutory Class E felony.
Mitigated statutory rape Crime & Punishment in Tennessee :
The Tennessee code § 39-13-506 defines one degrees of the crime mitigated statutory rape, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Mitigated statutory rape - Charge Description||Punishment|
Class E felony
|If victim is at least 15 but under 18, and offender is at least four but not more than five years older than victim.||Maximum of 6 years in prison and a maximum fine $3,000|
Tennessee law allows mitigated statutory rape to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the Tennessee Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Mitigated statutory rape is a charge that is unique to Tennessee. Crimes that would be prosecuted as mitigated statutory rape in Tennessee will be prosecuted under a different statute depending on the state in which the crime takes place.