Aggravated sexual assault - Texas Sexual Assault Laws
In Texas, the criminal charge of Aggravated sexual assault is classified as a Statutory Felony of the first degree.
Aggravated sexual assault Crime & Punishment in Texas :
The Texas code § 22.021 defines one degrees of the crime aggravated sexual assault, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Aggravated sexual assault - Charge Description||Punishment|
Felony of the first degree
|Maximum of life in prison and/or a maximum fine of $10,000|
Texas law allows aggravated sexual assault to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the Texas Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Aggravated sexual assault defined in other states :
Aggravated sexual assault is a charge in a total of two other state(s). The exact definition, charge type, and potential sentencing of this charge varying state to state. For further details please refer to the state page.
|Utah||First degree felony||A maximum of life in prison and/or a maximum fine of $10,000|
|Vermont||Felony||A maximum of life in prison and/or a maximum fine of $50,000|