Indecency with a child - Texas Sexual Assault Laws
Indecency with a child Crime & Punishment in Texas :
The Texas code § 21.11 defines two degrees of the crime indecency with a child, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Indecency with a child - Charge Description||Punishment|
Felony of the second degree
|If offender engages in sexual contact with a victim under 17 or causes victim to engage in sexual contact, and offender is more than three years older than victim.||Maximum of 20 years in prison and/or a maximum fine of $10,000|
Felony of the third degree
||Maximum of 10 years in prison and/or a maximum fine of $10,000|
Texas law allows indecency with a child to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the Texas Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Indecency with a child is a charge that is unique to Texas. Crimes that would be prosecuted as indecency with a child in Texas will be prosecuted under a different statute depending on the state in which the crime takes place.