Prohibited sexual conduct - Texas Sexual Assault Laws
Prohibited sexual conduct Crime & Punishment in Texas :
The Texas code § 25.02 defines two degrees of the crime prohibited sexual conduct, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Prohibited sexual conduct - Charge Description||Punishment|
Felony of the second degree
|If sexual intercourse or deviate sexual intercourse with offender’s ancestor or descendant by blood or adoption.||Maximum of 20 years in prison and/or a maximum fine of $10,000|
Felony of the third degree
|For violations of other subsections of this statute.||Maximum of 10 years in prison and/or a maximum fine of $10,000|
Texas law allows prohibited sexual conduct to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the Texas Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Prohibited sexual conduct is a charge that is unique to Texas. Crimes that would be prosecuted as prohibited sexual conduct in Texas will be prosecuted under a different statute depending on the state in which the crime takes place.