Forcible sexual abuse - Utah Sexual Assault Laws
Forcible sexual abuse Crime & Punishment in Utah :
The Utah code § 76-5-404 defines two degrees of the crime forcible sexual abuse, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Forcible sexual abuse - Charge Description||Punishment|
First degree felony
||A maximum of life in prison and/or a maximum fine of $10,000|
Second degree felony
||If the offender caused serious bodily harm to the victim.||A maximum of 15 years in prison and/or a maximum fine of $10,000|
Forcible sexual abuse is a charge that is unique to Utah. Crimes that would be prosecuted as forcible sexual abuse in Utah will be prosecuted under a different statute depending on the state in which the crime takes place.