Sexual abuse of a child - Utah Sexual Assault Laws
In Utah, the criminal charge of Sexual abuse of a child is classified as a Statutory Second degree felony.
Sexual abuse of a child Crime & Punishment in Utah :
The Utah code § 76-5-404.1 defines one degrees of the crime sexual abuse of a child, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Sexual abuse of a child - Charge Description||Punishment|
Second degree felony
|If sexual contact occurs between offender and a victim under 14 that does not amount to rape of a child, object rape of a child, sodomy upon a child, or an attempt to commit any of these offenses.||A maximum of 15 years in prison and/or a maximum fine of $10,000|
Utah law allows sexual abuse of a child to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the Utah Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Sexual abuse of a child is a charge that is unique to Utah. Crimes that would be prosecuted as sexual abuse of a child in Utah will be prosecuted under a different statute depending on the state in which the crime takes place.