Sexual abuse of a minor - Utah Sexual Assault Laws
In Utah, the criminal charge of Sexual abuse of a minor is classified as a Statutory Class A misdemeanor.
Sexual abuse of a minor Crime & Punishment in Utah :
The Utah code § 76-5-401.1 defines one degrees of the crime sexual abuse of a minor, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Sexual abuse of a minor - Charge Description||Punishment|
Class A misdemeanor
|Applies if offender is seven or more years older than victim.||A maximum of 1 year in prison and/or a maximum fine of $2,500|
Utah law allows sexual abuse of a minor to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the Utah Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Sexual abuse of a minor is a charge that is unique to Utah. Crimes that would be prosecuted as sexual abuse of a minor in Utah will be prosecuted under a different statute depending on the state in which the crime takes place.