Unlawful sexual activity with a minor - Utah Sexual Assault Laws
Unlawful sexual activity with a minor Crime & Punishment in Utah :
The Utah code § 76-5-401 defines two degrees of the crime unlawful sexual activity with a minor, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Unlawful sexual activity with a minor - Charge Description||Punishment|
Class B misdemeanor
|If offender is less than four years older than minor victim.||A maximum of 6 months in prison and/or a maximum fine of $1,000|
Third degree felony
|A maximum of 5 years in prison and/or a maximum fine of $5,000|
Utah law allows unlawful sexual activity with a minor to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the Utah Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Unlawful sexual activity with a minor is a charge that is unique to Utah. Crimes that would be prosecuted as unlawful sexual activity with a minor in Utah will be prosecuted under a different statute depending on the state in which the crime takes place.