Infected sexual battery - Virginia Sexual Assault Laws
Infected sexual battery Crime & Punishment in Virginia :
The Virginia code § 18.2-67.4:1 defines two degrees of the crime infected sexual battery, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Infected sexual battery - Charge Description||Punishment|
Class 1 misdemeanor
||A maximum of 12 months in prison, and/or a maximum fine of $2,500|
Class 6 felony
||A maximum of 5 years in prison, and/or a maximum fine of $2,500|
Infected sexual battery is a charge that is unique to Virginia. Crimes that would be prosecuted as infected sexual battery in Virginia will be prosecuted under a different statute depending on the state in which the crime takes place.