Sexual abuse of a child under 15 - Virginia Sexual Assault Laws
In Virginia, the criminal charge of Sexual abuse of a child under 15 is classified as a Statutory Class 1 misdemeanor.
Sexual abuse of a child under 15 Crime & Punishment in Virginia :
The Virginia code § 18.2-67.4:2 defines one degrees of the crime sexual abuse of a child under 15, each with associated punishments. The degree of the crime depends on the specifics of the crime committed, with higher degrees of the charge generally receiving harsher punishments.
|Severity||Sexual abuse of a child under 15 - Charge Description||Punishment|
Class 1 misdemeanor
|A maximum of 12 months in prison, and/or a maximum fine of $2,500|
Virginia law allows sexual abuse of a child under 15 to be enforced as a statutory charge. This means that this charge can be applied to cases in which the victim is younger than the Virginia Age of Consent, even if the victim willingly engages in sexual relations with the defendant.
Sexual abuse of a child under 15 is a charge that is unique to Virginia. Crimes that would be prosecuted as sexual abuse of a child under 15 in Virginia will be prosecuted under a different statute depending on the state in which the crime takes place.